List of Hat-tricks in IPL history

Laxmipathy Balaji became the first bowler to celebrate Hat-trick in IPL
Laxmipathy Balaji became the first bowler to celebrate Hat-trick in IPL

There is no doubt that Indian Premier League is one of the most exciting leagues in the world. It is exciting not because of the big name, it is simply because the game can take a turn at any time of the match. Fans are more interested to see fours & sixes in the ground but in reality bowlers are the one who can change the game at any given moment. Hat-tricks are not common in IPL, there have been seasons without hat-tricks but there have been seasons with multiple hat-tricks as well.

The first bowler to take the hat-trick in IPL was Laxmipathy Balaji who bowled a brilliant spell against Punjab team where he took 5 wickets for 24 runs in his 4 overs. The second & the third spot was taken by Amit Mishra and Makhaya Ntini in the same season. In the second season of IPL, it was some non-regular bowlers like Yuvraj Singh & Rohit Sharma while playing for Punjab & Hyderabad respectively. It was Praveen Kumar in 2010, Amit Mishra in 2011 and Ajit Chandila in 2012. Amit Mishra again took a hat-trick in 2013 along with Sunil Narine who bowled wonderfully for the Kolkata Knight Riders team. 

For a better understanding of raiders, we have compiled a list of the brilliant bowlers who entertained their fans & turned the game around with their Hat-tricks & brilliant bowling.

PlayerBowling FiguresAgainstYear
Lakshmipathy Balaji5/24KXIP2008
Amit Mishra5/17DEC2008
Makhaya Ntini4/21KKR2008
Yuvraj Singh3/22RCB2009
Rohit Sharma4/6MI2009
Yuvraj Singh3/13DEC2009
Praveen Kumar3/18RR2010
Amit Mishra4/9KXIP2011
Ajit Chandila4/13PWI2012
Sunil Narine3/33KXIP2013
Amit Mishra4/19PWI2013
Pravin Tambe3/26KKR2014
Shane Watson3/13SRH2014
Axar Patel4/21GL2016
Samuel Badree4/9MI2017
Andrew Tye5/17RPS2017
Jaydev Unadkat5/30SRH2017
Sam Curran4/11DC2019
Shreyas Gopal3/12RCB2019


User photo


21 Mar, 08:01