Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran join Trinbago Knight Riders, and more…

Andre Russell will play for Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2022

Trinbago Knight Riders have signed Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran for the 2022 edition of the Caribbean Premier League. Meanwhile, the franchise has also gone on to retain Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine.

Thus, this will mark the first time in the tournament that powerhouses Russell and Pollard will be playing together for the same cricket franchise.

The six franchises of the league on Monday announced the pre-draft retentions and signings for the upcoming season, with a maximum of seven players in each team.

The 2022 season saw two pre-draft windows. In the first window, each team were allowed to retain up to five Caribbean players with only two from the top-five salary spots.

In the second window, teams were allowed to sign two more local players. These could include new signings from those who were not retained by other teams or players who appeared for that team in the previous season.

Except for Guyana Amazon Warriors who retained six players and Jamaica Tallawahs who retained five, all the other franchises have used their full quota.

Also Read, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf signed by Yorkshire in the T20 Blast

Defending champions St Kitts and Nevis Patriots retained Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Sheldon Cottrell, Sherfane Rutherford, and Dominic Drakes. Then they went on to sign Darren Bravo and wicket-keeper batsman Andre Fletcher.

Meanwhile, runners-up St Lucia Kings retained Roston Chase, Kesrick Williams, Jeavor Royal, and Alzarri Joseph before signing Johnson Charles and Mark Deyal.

The most successful franchise of the league, Trinbago Knight Riders, retained Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, and Tion Webster before signing Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran.

Guyana Amazon Warriors retained Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, and Chandrapaul Hemraj while also signing Keemo Paul and Gudakesh Motie.

Two-time champions Jamaica Tallawahs retained only three players – captain Rovman Powell along with Kennar Lewis and Shamarh Brooks. They also went on to sign Brandon King and Fabian Allen to strengthen their squad ahead of the upcoming CPL season.

On the other hand 2014 and 2019 champions, Barbados Tridents have gone on to retain skipper Jason Holder along with Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh, Oshane Thomas, and Nyeem Young before signing Obed McCoy and Devon Thomas.

Also Read, Alyssa Healy stars as Australia beats England in the World Cup Final by 71 runs

The 2022 season of CPL is set to begin on August 30 and the final will be held at the Providence Stadium in Guyana on September 30. This will also mark the first time that CPL Final will be staged in Guyana after a three-year staging agreement between the Guyanese government and the Cricket West Indies officials.

Pre-draft retentions and signings –

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots: DJ Bravo, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes

Saint Lucia Kings: Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Keemo Paul, Gudakesh Motie

Jamaica Tallawahs: Rovman Powell, Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Shamarh Brooks

Barbados Royals: Jason Holder, Obed McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas, Oshane Thomas, Nayeem Young