ipl 930х121 2

Esports Awards 2020 Held Virtually, G2 & Team Secret Amongst Biggest Winners

Esports Awards 2020

G2 Esports, Riot Games, and Team Secret stood tallest among the world of eSports entertainment at the Esports Awards 2020 on sunday.

Unfortunately, the award giving ceremony was a virtual one, which meant that fans all over the world were unable to spot their most favourite eSports stars making perfect use of a free bar. The ceremony was still a great occasion for the eSports fraternity to be diverted away from the recent concerns regarding the second wave of the Coronavirus and also to see many of the deserved entities being rewarded for their consistent efforts this year.

G2 won the most coveted “Esports Organisation of the Year” award, which is (arguably) considered the most prestigious award of the ceremony. To add to that, Carlos ‘ocelote’ Rodriguez, the honorable CEO of G2 scooped the “Esports Personality of the Year” award and Ibai ‘Ibai’ Llanos, G2’s Spanish Twitch sensation became the “Streamer of the Year”. Riot Games also picked up their fair share of awards. They got the “Publisher of the Year”, and their creation League of Legends was voted by the public as the “Esports Game of the Year”. League of Legends European Championship’s (LEC) content team too got into the award-winners’ list.

The Dota 2 roster of Team Secret became the brand new “Esports Team of the Year”. Polish newbie Michal ‘Nisha’ Jankowski, also from Team Secret, became the runaway winner of the Player of the Year (PC Platform) award, while his team coach, Lee ‘Heen’ Seung-Gon, was declared the “Coach of the Year”.

Among the other award-winners, Anthony ‘Shotzzy’ Cuevas-Castro, MVP of the Call of Duty League (CDL) 2020, won two awards alone — “Console Player of the Year” and “Console Rookie”.

Esportz Network

Major Winners

  • Coverage Website of the Year – The Esports Observer
  • Content Creator of the Year – UpUpDownDown
  • Creative Team of the Year – Paper Crowns
  • Content Team of the Year – League of Legends European Championship (LEC)
  • Color Caster of the Year – Michael “KiXSTAr” Stockley
  • Console Rookie of the Year – Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
  • Console Player of the Year – Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
  • Esports Game of the Year – League of Legends
  • Host of the Year – Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • Journalist of the Year – Emily Rand
  • Mobile Game of the Year – Garena FreeFire
  • Mobile Player of the Year – Made Bagas “Zuxxy” Pramudita
  • Organization of the Year – G2 Esports
  • Play of the Year – İsmail Can “XANTARES” Dörtkardeş
  • Play-by-Play Caster of the Year – Clayton “CaptainFlowers” Raines
  • PC Rookie of the Year – Ryu “Keria” Min-seok
  • PC Player of the Year – Michał “Nisha” Jankowski
  • Personality of the Year – Carlos ‘ocelote’ Rodriguez
  • Publisher of the Year – Riot Games
  • Streamer of the Year – Ibai Llanos
  • Team of the Year – Team Secret (Dota 2)

Lifetime Achievement in Esports Awards

  • Craig ‘Torbull’ Levine (CEO, ESL Gaming)
  • Daigo Umehara (Japanese 2D Gamer)
  • Jonathan ‘Fatality’ Wendel (Former Gamer)
  • Lim ‘Boxer’ Yo-Hwan (Starcraft Player)
  • Michael Sepso (CEO, Vindex)
  • Richard Lewis (British Esports Journalist)

Panels’s Choice Awards

  • Steve Dudenhoeffer (Programer), and
  • Michal Slowinski (Scientist).