Rohit Sharma returns for India’s home series against West Indies; Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi included as well

Rohit Sharma is now India’s captain in white-ball cricket

Rohit Sharma has returned to the Indian team after a long injury layoff which had him missing the home series against New Zealand and the away tour to South Africa. The regular captain in ODIs and T20 internationals, Rohit, will lead the team against West Indies in the home series starting on February 6. 

India and West Indies will play three ODIs from February 6 at Ahmedabad before moving to Kolkata’s Eden Gardens for a three-match series in the shortest format.

India have also included batting all-rounder Deepak Hooda in their squad which also has the likes of Kuldeep Yadav and Washington Sundar returning to the side whereas uncapped legspinner Ravi Bishnoi has also been included for the first time ever. 

The fast bowling lot includes Mohammed Siraj, proceed Krishna and Avesh Khan along with Shardul Thakur as Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been dropped from the ODI side while Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested. Bhuvneshwar has been named in the squad for the T20I series. 

The BCCI informed that vice captain KL Rahul will not be available for the first ODI against West Indies and will be available from the second game onwards. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is undergoing his final stage of recovery post a knee surgery and will not be available for the bilateral series. The left-arm spin bowling all-rounder Akshar Patel will be available for selection for the T20Is.

India’s ODI squad against West Indies: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammad Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan. 

India’s T20I squad against West Indies: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammad Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.