Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: Every side will have a new captain from 2019

The captains for the 2019 ODI World Cup will appear entirely differently in this year's official image

If nothing changes in the next months, the 2023 men’s ODI World Cup, which will take place later this year in India, will be the first one in which no skipper from the previous tournament will captain a country.

In the interim, there have been retirements and leadership changes, and Kane Williamson is probably going to miss the 2023 championship due to the knee injury he suffered in the IPL. 

Williamson, who was voted Player of the Tournament in 2019 after leading New Zealand to the final and collecting 578 runs in nine innings while doing so, was the only side to have the same captain as the previous season.

Tom Latham, who has previously captained the team when Williamson was absent, is the most likely candidate to do so, even if New Zealand hasn’t officially named a replacement. 

As a result, it’s possible that some of the guys in charge of their teams at the moment won’t still hold those positions come World Cup time.

Gulbadin Naib is still in charge, but Hashmatullah Shahidi has been Afghanistan’s captain for a while; Pat Cummins is currently Australia’s captain after Aaron Finch withdrew from international cricket; and Mashrafe Mortaza, who hasn’t participated in an international game since March 2020, is replaced by Tamim Iqbal for Bangladesh. 

Jos Buttler has taken over as captain after Eoin Morgan retired from international cricket last year after serving as their white-ball captain for seven and a half years during which time they won the 2019 World Cup trophy. 

India’s all-format captain is Rohit Sharma, who took over in ODIs after Virat Kohli was dismissed in late 2021; Since May 2020, Babar Azam has taken over as the ODI captain for Pakistan, replacing Sarfaraz Ahmed.

This year’s initial stages will feature Sri Lanka and West Indies, who participated in the ten-team main event last time. 

There have been adjustments there as well. In place of Dimuth Karunaratne, Dasun Shanaka is in control of Sri Lanka, and Shai Hope is in leadership of West Indies; Kieron Pollard and Nicholas Pooran had been in charge before Jason Holder resigned his position as coach following a disappointing 2019 World Cup.

Ireland can yet surpass South Africa if they win all three of their games against Bangladesh in the coming series and lower their net run rate from -0.382 to -0.076 or better. 

South Africa have also not yet qualified for the main tournament. Temba Bavuma is now in charge of South Africa, with Faf du Plessis being out of the running.

The World Cup for men’s ODIs is anticipated to begin on October 5 and conclude on November 19.

Between June 18 and July 9, Zimbabwe will host the qualifying competition. Netherlands, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, USA, UAE, one of Ireland and South Africa, and the West Indies will also take part in the event, in addition to Sri Lanka and the West Indies. To the World Cup will go the top two qualifying teams.