Australia fell short as India clinch the T20I series 4-1: Player Ratings for the Visitors

unnamed   2023 12 05T175150.812
Josh Inglis etched his name in the history books in the first T20I

Australia gave rest to their star players in the five-match T20I series against India as they fell short of the desired performances. 

India was the better side in the bilateral tournament as they exposed the chinks in the armour of the inexperienced Australian attack bagging the series 4-1 against Matthew Wade’s men. On that note, here are the player ratings of Australian players. 

Top Order 

Steve Smith (6/10): Steven Smith played only the first two T20Is and accumulated 71 runs in total. He got run out in the first match at 52 runs off 41 balls while anchoring the innings to help Inglis complete his century. Smith’s slow start in the second T20I in a batting-friendly pitch gave the rest of his teammates a mountain to climb while chasing 236 runs. 

Josh Inglis (8/10): Josh Inglis scored the quickest century by an Australian in the first T20I in Vishakhapatnam by reaching the mark at 47 balls. However, his innings of 110 runs off 50 balls went in vain as India chased down the target of 209 runs. He scored only 2 runs in the second T20I before being rested for the subsequent fixtures.

Travis Head (8/10): Australia’s hero in the ICC World Cup final returned to hurt India in the last three T20Is as he scored 35, 31, and 28 runs respectively at a strike rate of more than 150 in all the matches. However, his teammates failed to make the most of the start given by him.

Josh Philippe (1/10): Josh Philippe couldn’t make the most of his opportunities and had a forgetful outing with the bat as he scored only 12 runs at the top in the last two T20Is. 

Ben McDermott (7/10): McDermott played the last two T20Is and scored 19 and 54 runs respectively. While the rest of his teammates struggled to score runs in the last T20I, he hit five sixes and gave Australia a good chance of winning the dead rubber.

Middle Order 

Glenn Maxwell’s heroics guided Australia to the only win in the series

Glenn Maxwell (7/10): Glenn Maxwell was expensive with the balls as he conceded 68 runs from the three overs he bowled. However, he was one of the best Australian performers with the bat scoring 104 runs off 48 balls to guide them to victory in the third T20I.

Matt Short (4/10): Matthew Short took the wicket of Yashasvi Jaiswal in the first T20I after notching only 13 runs off 11 balls with the bat. He played a handy knock of 19 runs off 10 balls in the second T20I before scoring 22 runs off 19 deliveries in the fourth T20I. Short was able to score only 16 runs from 11 balls in the final T20I ending a disappointing series.

Marcus Stoinis (6/10): Stoinis conceded 36 runs from his spell of 3 overs in the first T20I before playing a handy knock of 45 runs off 25 balls in the second T20I which gave Australia something to fight for. Stoinis’ steady knock of 17 runs off 21 balls took the game to the last over in the third T20I for Australia. 

Aaron Hardie (6/10): Aaron Hardie was taken all over the park in the third T20I as he conceded 64 runs in his four overs in the third T20I before playing a knock of 16 runs off 12 balls at the top which made matters tough for Maxwell in the end. 

Hardie bagged a maiden in the fourth T20I and conceded only 20 runs from 3 overs before responding with only 8 runs with the bat. Hardie had an economy rate of 5.25 in the final T20I but fumbled with the bat as he scored only 6 runs.

Tim David (6/10): Tim David had a mixed bag of outings as his slow knock in the fourth and fifth T20I caused Australia to lose the match. David started the series on an explosive note by scoring 19 and 37 runs at a strike rate of 146 and 168 in the first two T20Is respectively. He got out on a golden duck in the third T20I before playing knocks of 19 runs off 20 balls and 17 runs off 17 balls in the last two matches. 

Matthew Wade (8/10): Skipper Matthew Wade was the most consistent batter in the Australian team having notched 128 runs at a strike rate of 166. He batted in the last four T20Is and scored 10 boundaries and 9 sixes in the series. 


Jason Behrendorff (9/10): In the first T20I, Behrendorff bagged a maiden and conceded only 25 runs from his four overs while taking the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav. 

Behrendorff returned with miserly figures of 4-1-12-1 in the third T20I while others leaked plenty of runs as India went on to score 222 runs. He took two wickets each in the last two matches to finish the series on a high note. 

Tanveer Sangha (7/10): The young wrist spinner took only five wickets from five matches but conceded 179 runs from the combined 20 overs he bowled. 

Sean Abbott (3/10): Sean Abbott nearly pulled the impossible task of defending two runs from four balls in the first T20I by taking the game to the last ball which Rinku Singh smacked for a maximum. In the second T20I, he scored only one run with the bat after becoming the most expensive player with the ball by conceding 56 runs from three overs. 

Nathan Ellis (2/10): Nathan Ellis conceded 44 runs without picking a wicket in the first T20I before completing his three-wicket haul in the next match. Ellis once again went wicketless and conceded 46 runs in the third T20I before returning with a single wicket while conceding 42 runs from his four overs in the last T20I. 

Adam Zampa (3/10): Adam Zampa played only the second T20I and conceded 33 runs without picking up a single wicket in that match. 

Kane Richardson (5/10): Richardson took the wicket of Ishan Kishan in the third T20I to dismiss him for a duck and conceded 33 runs in total in the only match he played in the series. 

Ben Dwarshuis (7/10): Ben Dwarshuis played the last two T20Is and picked up five wickets from the eight overs he bowled. He claimed the wicket of skipper Suryakumar Yadav in both matches to arrest India’s run-scoring flow. Chris Green (1/10): Chris Green conceded 36 runs from his spell of four overs in the fourth T20I which turned out to be his only match in the series.