Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty create history, Viktor Axelsen wins third consecutive title


The 2023 Indonesia Open was held from June 13th to June 18th, 2023, at the prestigious Istora Gelora Bung Karno in Jakarta, Indonesia. With a total prize pool of US$1,250,000, the event attracted top-tier players from around the world.

In the men’s singles category, Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen emerged as the champion, showcasing his remarkable skills and resilience throughout the tournament. The world number 1 player continued his dominance in Jakarta and won what was his 3rd straight Indonesia Open title.

Meanwhile, China’s Chen Yufei claimed victory in the women’s singles, currently ranked number 4. Chen defeated fellow Olympic gold medallist, the Spanish Carolina Marin in the final. The men’s doubles title went to the talented Indian duo of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty. The duo scripted history by becoming the first champion pairing from India. 

In the women’s doubles, South Korea’s Baek Ha-na and Lee So-hee proved came out winners Lastly, the mixed doubles event witnessed a remarkable display of skill from China’s Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong, 

Here’s a look at the highlights of the Indonesia Open 2023 Finals:

Men’s Singles

V. Axelsen vs A. Genting

Viktor Axelsen won his third straight Indonesia Open title after a win against Anthony Ginting

In a thrilling singles final held at Jakarta’s Istora Senayan arena, Axelsen faced off against the underdog, Anthony Sinisuka Ginting, and emerged victorious in straight games. Throughout the 47-minute final, the Danish ace demonstrated his dominance, never allowing Ginting to gain momentum. With a score of 21-14, 21-13, Axelsen controlled the match from start to finish, leaving the home crowd disappointed.

Following his impressive win, Axelsen expressed his disbelief and speechlessness, acknowledging that he had never anticipated winning the Indonesia Open for the third time in a row. The triumph marked Axelsen’s first individual tournament title after a hamstring injury had previously forced him to miss the Singapore Open and withdraw from the Sudirman Cup. 

Women’s Singles

Y.F. Chen vs Carolina Marin

Chen Yufei, the reigning Olympic gold medalist from the People’s Republic of China, emerged victorious in the battle of Olympic badminton champions at the 2023 Indonesia Open. In an exciting final held in Jakarta, Chen faced off against Carolina Marin, the Rio 2016 champion, and secured a hard-fought win with a score of 21-18, 21-19 in a thrilling match that lasted one hour and four minutes.

The first game was closely contested, with Marin, who was playing her first Super 1000 final since January 2021, taking a slim 18-16 lead. However, Chen capitalized on Marin’s backhand weakness and won the next five points in succession, claiming the first game.

In the second game, Marin initially held the advantage, leading with a 16-10 score. However, Chen showcased her resilience and skill, reeling off seven consecutive points to surge ahead. With great determination, the Chinese player converted her first match point, surpassing her 2018 performance when she finished as the runner-up to Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying.

Mixed Doubles

Y.Q. Huang/S.W. Zheng vs Y. Watanabe/A. Higashino

Mixed doubles top seeds Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong only needed 35 minutes to finish the final. They won against Japan’s Yuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino with a convincing scoreline of 21-14, 21-10. 

The two showed showcased exceptional teamwork and coordination on the court, leaving their opponents with little chance to turn the tide. The pair won their third title of the season together.

Men’s Doubles

Chirag Shetty/Satwiksairaj Rankireddy vs Aaron Chia/Wooi Yik Soh

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty became the first Indian pair to win Indonesia Open

In the men’s doubles, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty achieved a historic milestone. The Indian duo defeated Malaysia’s Aaron Chia and Wooi Yik Soh with a score of 21-17, 21-18. Although they faced a slow start, Satwik and Chirag quickly regained their momentum and managed to secure the win in straight games.

The Indians displayed an aggressive style of play that consistently forced errors from their opponents. As Chia and Soh were also aiming for their first BWF World Tour title, they felt the pressure and made crucial mistakes. Satwik and Chirag found their rhythm and tempo, taking a 2-point lead into the halftime break. They maintained their attacking approach in the second half of the game, ultimately converting their first game point to secure the victory.

Women’s Doubles

S.H. Lee/H.N. Baek vs S. Hirota/Y. Fukushima

Moving on, the women’s doubles were won by the South Korean pairing of Baek Ha-na and Lee So-hee. The two came up against the Japanese pairing of Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota, winning in straight sets. The pair were clearly the better team on the day and broke the Japanese down in a matter of 67 minutes.