The future of Kolkata is bright under Shreyas Iyer’s supervision – Irfan Pathan

The future of Kolkata is bright under his supervision and we've seen glimpses of it in the first couple of games

The former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan lauded the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer and says that the future of Kolkata Knight Riders is bright under the leadership of this young skipper.

Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan said that the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer has been remarkable and the future of the Kolkata-based franchise is bright under his captaincy.

Shreyas Iyer has been appointed as a skipper of KKR in the IPL 2022 edition and he impressed everyone with the way he executed things in the two games so far.

After beating CSK in the opening game of IPL, KKR sealed a six-wicket victory over RCB in their second match of the campaign, in which RCB’s batting failed to click at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai.

Meanwhile, Punjab Kings (PBKS) started their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 campaign with an ideal after starting the campaign with a five-wicket victory against Royal Challengers Bangalore at the DY Patil Stadium last Sunday.

Former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan said during an episode of ‘Cricket Live’ on Star Sports:

“Shreyas Iyer is a brilliant captain. Remember, he picked up captaincy midway through the season like Rohit Sharma who was named Mumbai Indians’ captain halfway through the season in IPL 2013. For Delhi Capitals, Shreyas started well under the supervision of coach Ricky Ponting and he kept improving his decision-making skills in his first stint as captain.”

“But his captaincy moves are coming to the fore prominently in this season and we will talk more about it as the tournament progresses. He’s a players’ captain. He backs the players at every turn and which is a good sign of a leader. The future of Kolkata is bright under his supervision and we’ve seen glimpses of it in the first couple of games,”

he added.

Kolkata Knight Riders will face Punjab Kings on Friday at the Wankhede Stadium.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ishan Porel, Liam Livingstone, Odeon Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Angad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Benny Howell