South Africa announces the 21 member test squad against India on Tuesday


South Africa had announced their 21 member test squad against India while India didn’t announce their squad against Proteas yet and the first game will be played on 26 December.

South Africa on Tuesday announced their squad for the three-match test series against India. The series will begin on December 26, part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test championship. 

The opening test match will be played in SuperSport Park in Centurion, the second one in Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, and the final game in Cape Town. 

Anrich Nortje was part of the squad while Pacer Sisanda Magala and wicket-keeper batsmen Ryan Rickelton are the new faces in the team.

“The National Selection Panel has gone with the same core group that successfully toured the West Indies in June of this year and have included three others,”

Cricket South Africa said in a media statement.

Kagiso Rabada and Quinton de Kock are also included in the squad while Duanne Olivier who had last played for South Africa against the Sri Lanka series in February 2019 also successfully made his place in the team.

“We are looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period,”

CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said.

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil,”

he added.

South Africa’s Test squad vs India: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier