Mitchell Santner will be leading the New Zealand’s T20I team in India 

Mitchell Santner has led New Zealand in 11 T20 international matches so far

For the upcoming series in India, which starts later this month, Mitchell Santner has been named captain of the New Zealand T20I team. Due to their decision to stay home after the current series in Pakistan, Kane Williamson and Tim Southee will both be absent.

The fast bowler from Auckland named Ben Lister, 27, to the New Zealand team for the first time. He was named the Men’s Bowler of the Year by Auckland Cricket last season after touring India with the New Zealand A team in late 2017.

Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland early in his career in red and white-ball cricket,”

According to Gavin Larsen, the head selector for New Zealand

“Since his debut in late 2017, he is the Aces’ leading wicket-taker in T20 and List A cricket. His ability to swing the ball considerably as a left-armer is particularly exciting.

We all felt for Ben after his tour ended the way it did last year, and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to return to domestic cricket so strongly this season.”

When Lister developed pneumonia and had to be hospitalized in Bengaluru before flying back to the United States, his A-team tour of India came to an abrupt end. In three Super Smash games for Auckland so far this season, he has taken five wickets, and in six Ford Trophy innings, he has taken six.

Kane Williamson and Southee won’t be making the trip to India after the tour of Pakistan, so Tom Latham will captain New Zealand in ODIs and Mitchell Santner in T20Is. 

In 11 T20Is, Santner has steered New Zealand, eight of which were played in Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands in 2017.

Mitch is a leader in our white-ball teams and has captained the T20 side in Kolkata India in 2021 before,”

Larsen said.

“His experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable leading this group.”

Fast bowlers Kyle Jamieson (back), Matt Henry (abdominal), Adam Milne (side), and Ben Sears (back) were listed by NZC as being unable to be chosen because they are recovering from their injuries.

The three-match ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand is currently tied at 1-1, following a 0-0 tie in the two-match Test series. The New Zealand team is currently in Pakistan. 

When they arrive in India, they will play three ODIs in Hyderabad (January 18), Raipur (January 21), and Indore (January 24), followed by three T20Is in Ranchi (January 27), Lucknow (January 29), and Ahmedabad (February 1).

New Zealand’s T20I squad for India: Mitchell Santner (capt), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner