Shakib Al Hasan appointed as Bangladesh T20I skipper until the 2022 World Cup in Australia

Shakib Al Hasan returns to the role of Bangladesh T20I captaincy

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) appointed Shakib Al Hasan as the T20I skipper for the side until the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

The announcement came after Shakib Al Hasan pulled out from the contention deal that he made with Betwinner and had a closed-door meeting with BCB Chief Nazmul Hasan at his house.

With this news, Bangladesh made a couple of changes in their T20I squad for the Asia Cup, with Liton Das ruled out from the tournament following injuries.

Shakib returns to the side which means that Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Ebadat Hossain, and Mohammad Saifuddin.

Munim Shahriar, Nazmul Hossain, and Shoriful Islam could not make their cut to the side but surprisingly, BCB opted to include Nurul Hasan who had earlier been ruled out.

Nurul Hasan had an operation recently and his stitches are expected to be removed on August 21.

“We will see where he stands and so we are keeping him in the squad,”

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said while announcing the squad.

Minhajul also included that they have added Sabbir Rahman and the team required a power-hitter at the down order.

Squad: Shakib al Hasan (C), Anamul Haq Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mossaddek Saikat, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sheikh Mahedi, Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed

”Shakib al Hasan is the captain till the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup,”

BCB cricket operation chairman Jalal Yunus told reporters after the meeting.

”He admitted that he made a mistake (signing the deal with Betwinner News) and he said that won’t make any further mistakes and we are hopeful,”

he said.

Shakib has previously taken the role as a stand-in T20I skipper back in 2009-10 when he led the side in four games. He was suspended by ICC after being accused of corrupt approaches and he become the T20I skipper after the retirement of Mashrafe bin Mortaza.

During the second period, he took the role from 2017 to 2019, he led the side on 17 occasions and Bangladesh won 7 out of 21 games under his leadership.

It has been reported earlier that the Board is ready to accept Shakib’s apology and appoint him as T20I skipper again despite being in unacceptable situations off the field.