Pakistan will play for pride while England have eyes on a clean-sweep

ICC/ Twitter

Pakistan, after losing the ODI series to an inexperienced England side will look forward to winning the final ODI for pride while England has solid plans to clean-sweep the visitors.

The English team, after three players and four members of the squad, had tested positive for Covid-19, the England and Wales cricket board (ECB) has announced a new squad. New Squad has surprised by their outstanding performance against Pakistan.

In the first ODI, the hosts have won by nine wickets at Cardiff and Pakistan was all out on 141 with Saqib Mahmood finished the innings with figures of 4-42. England pushed to a nine-wicket victory with Zak Crawley and David Malan holding a great partnership.

In the second ODI, things were not much different for Pakistan as they were all out for 195.

In the third and final ODI, England all eyes look to their top-order batsman to help them in the clean sweep against Pakistan.

For English fans, a clean sweep does not matter because of the huge loss in Euro 2020 football final to Italy but it may help them to overcome their sadness.

“We have the series already, but there’s nothing better than continuing the winning streak. We will take the same mindset into the next game, and if anything we will come harder,”

said Ben Stokes.

“We didn’t start well with the bat, lost back-to-back wickets, and couldn’t put up partnerships. We hope we can fix this in the next match. We see the next match as a good opportunity because points are still at stake,”

said Babar Azam.


ENGLAND: Ben Stokes ©, Jake Ball, Brydon Carse, Danny Brigs, Ben Duckett, Zak Crawley, Will Jacks, Lewis Gregory, Tom Helm, Dawid Malan, Saqib Mahmood, Dan Lawrence, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, James Vince, Phil Salt, David Payne, John Simpson (wk).

PAKISTAN: Babar Azam ©, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Imam ul Haq, Hassan Ali, Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Nawaz, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Usman Qadir.