Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, an uncapped pacer from Bangladesh, will play in Ireland’s ODIs

Mrittunjoy Chowdhury is an uncapped left-arm pacer

Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, a pace bowler without any experience, has been included to Bangladesh’s 15-man ODI team for the forthcoming three-match series against Ireland, which will begin on May 9 in Chelmsford.

Following Mrittunjoy’s performance for Chattogram Challengers in the Bangladesh Premier League, he gained attention. The left-arm pace bowler, who has the capacity to bat lower in the order, also excelled when on a previous trip of the West Indies with Bangladesh A.

Due to a discomfort on his left side, Taskin Ahmed was unable to play in the single Ireland Test and did not make the cut.

“It is a big loss that we could not get Taskin as he is ruled out due to injury but at the same time it is an opportunity for others,” Minhajul Abedin, Bangladesh Cricket Board chief selector, told Cricbuzz on Sunday.

“We have picked Mrityunjoy as he could swing the ball and can be effective in English conditions,” he added.

Shoriful Islam, a fast bowler, and Taijul Islam, a left-arm spinner, both of whom played pretty well against Ireland, are both back in the squad. Another left-arm spinner, Nasum Ahmed, was not retained despite playing well.

“We are looking at everyone and for the tour we want to see Taijul but that does not imply everything is over for Nasum. Ahead of the World Cup we are trying to look at a few options and this is one such move (picking Taijul ahead of Nasum),”

he said.

Before the start of the tour, Litton Das and Mustafizur Rahman are anticipated to return from the current Indian Premier League.

For the purpose of getting the team ready for the impending Ireland visit, the foreign coaching group, led by Chandika Hathurusingha, left Dhaka and would likely return on April 23.

The victory will ensure the hosts a spot in the upcoming World Cup in India later this year, so they will be eager to defeat Bangladesh. Ireland will have to compete in the World Cup qualifiers in Zimbabwe in June and July, though, if that is not the case.

The following two games, scheduled for May 12 and 14, will pit Bangladesh against Ireland.
Bangladesh Squad for the ODI series against Ireland:Tamim Iqbal (captain), Litton Kumar Das, Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Mrittunjoy Chowdhury