KXIP registered a hattrick winning over DC by five wickets

Hindustan Times

On Tuesday, the Dubai International Cricket Stadium witnessed KXIP making their third win in a row. KXIP chased down the 165 runs target and defeated DC by five wickets and six balls to spare in match 38 of the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020.

Nicholas Pooran’s 28-ball 53 helped KXIP win with flying colors.

DC batting first sent Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan to open for the team. The duo couldn’t settle in as Prithvi Shaw got dismissed for seven runs. Shreyas Iyer joins the field, and Dhawan talked in boundaries and completed his fifty off just 28 balls. Ashwin broke the dangerous partnership by knocking out Iyer for 14 runs. Rishab Pant and Marcus Stoinis faced an early fall for 14 and 9 runs, respectively. Dhawan prevailed and completed his 100 off just 57 deliveries. Mohammed Shami delivered the last over, and DC managed to score seven runs but lost Shimron Hetmyer’s wicket on the last ball. Shikhar Dhanwan stands unbeaten on 106*, and DC ended on 164/5 after 20 overs.

Chasing the 165 runs target, KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal came out to start the run chase. Starting slowly, KXIP met with an unfortunate start and lost its captain KL Rahul in the 3rd over for 15 runs. Chris Gayles opened grand, but his rage came to an end with Ashwin taking him out for 29 off 13 balls. A mix-up between Nicholas Pooran and Mayank Agarwal cost them Mayank’s wicket. Nicholas Pooran made his intentions clear with back-to-back boundaries and surged the score beyond 120 with his 27 balls fifty. Pooran falls for 53, leaving Glenn Maxwell pushing the scoreboard. After Glenn Maxwell departed for 32, Deepak Hooda and Jimmy Neesham completed the job in the last over. Jimmy Neesham’s six off Daniel Sams registered the third win in a row for KXIP by five wickets.

The class performance by Shikhar Dhawan fell short in front of KXIP, and with the win over DC, KXIP reached the fifth spot on the points table.