India beat Namibia by 9 wickets in last ICC T20 World Cup 2021 match

unnamed (2)
India recorded yet another commanding win in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Ravindra Jadeja claimed the man of the match award once again as India effortlessly defeated Namibia in a commanding manner, in what turned out to be their final match in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 on Monday night at Dubai. Following their victory in the last match of the tournament in which India were knocked out in the first round itself, Virat Kohli bid adieu to the captaincy role for the national team in the shortest format while there were other changes lined up as well.

It was also the last match for Ravi Shastri as the head coach of the Indian cricket team along with Bharat Arun as the bowling coach, R Sridhar as the fielding coach and former India opening batsman Vikram Rathore as a batting coach. It must be remembered that Rathore has also applied for the role of batting coach with Rahul Dravid now being the head coach of the Indian team.

India had earlier lost heavily to arch-rivals Pakistan by 10 wickets followed by a defeat by 8 wickets at the hands of New Zealand, which had virtually ruled him out of the race for a spot in the semifinals of the ongoing T20 World Cup. Despite a poor start, India did not let go of the opportunity of playing some excellent cricket in the remaining matches, as they went on to thrash the other opponents mercilessly.

India defeated Afghanistan by 66 runs and followed it up with a brisk and clinical 8-wicket victory over Scotland in their penultimate match. In their final contest of the World Cup, India restricted Namibia for a moderate total of 132/8 after electing to bowl first, and chased it down in 15.2 overs with only one wicket lost.

Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were the heroes with the ball as they both took three wickets each to run through the Namibian batting line-up. Jasprit Bumrah claimed 4-0-19-2 whereas Mohammad Shami remained wicketless along with legspinner Rahul Chahar.

Chasing a moderate total, India did not flinch even once in attacking right from ball one. KL Rahul remained unbeaten for 54 from 36 balls with the help of four boundaries and two sixes whereas Rohit Sharma smacked seven boundaries and two sixes to make 56 from 37 balls as the two batsmen once again provided India with a strong start. After Rohit and Rahul added 86 runs for the first wicket, Suryakumar Yadav was promoted ahead of Kohli at number three and the right-handed batsman reached 25 not out from 19 balls with four boundaries when the winning runs were hit.

India will now return home after failing to reach the semifinals stage. With the new coaching set up in place, India will look to produce strong performances against the New Zealand cricket team in the three-match T20I series starting in a few days’ time.