Top 5 Batters with the most runs in a single season of IPL

King Kohli leads the charts with 963 runs in a single season

IPL 2023 was another epic season that saw almost all kinds of cutting-edge games where maximum, came down to the last ball. The IPL 2023 finale turned out to be the most appropriate ending to such a season. From a day delay to the last ball victory that too with a boundary, it was a spectacle for all cricket fans.

The Indian Premier League has to be the world’s most popular and well-attended sporting tournament. Every year, cricketers from all around the world compete in this tournament. The IPL’s T20 format creates a fast-paced and thrilling spectacle that fans can’t get enough of. IPL has become synonymous with explosive batting and edge-of-your-seat encounters.

Here are the top five run-getters from a single season in IPL history. 

#5 Kane Williamson (735 runs in IPL 2018)

Kane Williamson, famous for his composed long format batting aura, literally dominated T20 batting in IPL 2018 where he scored 735 runs. SRH missed David Warner’s presence throughout the 2018 Indian Premier League season. In his absence, Kane Williamson commanded the team and delivered the captain’s knock in almost every match.

Williamson scored a total of 735 runs out of the 17 matches he played in 2018. With an average of 52.50, he was always there to steady things on the field for SRH. His best that season was 84 against CSK. He won the Orange Cap by scoring at a complete strike rate of 142.44 with 63 fours and 28 huge maximums. 

During the season, he hit eight half-centuries and led SRH to the tournament final. In the final versus CSK, Williamson hit 47 runs and helped the side to a competitive 178-run total in the first innings. Although SRH could not emerge victorious, everyone saw the short format potential of Kane Williamson.

#4 David Warner (848 runs in IPL 2016)

Warner was on top of his form in IPL 2016 with 848 runs

Warner’s explosive starts at the top are something SRH fans will never forget. Warner’s meteoric rise in the IPL began with his exploits in the 2016 season, when he guided the team to the final and helped them win their first IPL trophy. Warner scored nine half-centuries in the event, averaging more than 60. Warner had his greatest season with the bat, scoring 848 runs in 17 matches.

David Warner was behind Kohli’s havoc in the IPL 2016 season where Warner eventually emerged at the top from the team’s perspective. The final between RCB and SRH had their captains lined up in the orange cap race. Although Virat Kohli won the cap, Warner won the IPL trophy. 

Warner has been the most successful batsman for SRH in the competition’s history. Between 2016 and 2020, he scored more than 500 runs in four consecutive seasons. The fall in his form after that made SRH not back him enough. Now Warner plays for Delhi Capitals and is trying to get his wreath on the IPL stage back.

#3 Jos Buttler (863 runs in IPL 2022)

In the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League, Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler wore the Orange Cap. The Englishman scored 863 runs in 17 matches, with an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05. In IPL 2022, he also hit four tons and four half-centuries.

Buttler stands in the third position as the highest scorer of all time in an IPL season. Jos Buttler of IPL 2022 was a mountain while batting that every bowler of other teams tried climbing upon but failed. Buttler went on to destroy every bowler’s economy in every match, making umpteen cricket fans go ‘wow’ over his batting tactics.

Buttler battled against the GT bowlers during the summit encounter, but he still managed to smash 39 off 35 deliveries with five boundaries. Buttler scored 863 runs in 17 games this season. Buttler ended the season with 863 runs in 17 matches. As the Royals lost the title to Titans in 2022, Buttler indeed won cricket fans by four explicit centuries through the tournament.

#2 Shubman Gill (890 runs in IPL 2023)

Gill almost touched Kohli’s mark with a massive tally of 890

Gujarat Titans opener Shubman Gill completed his IPL 2023 with 890 runs thanks to his innings of 39 in the final against Chennai Super Kings which helped him get ahead of Jos Buttler but just behind Virat Kohli’s tally of 963.

Shubman Gill stated ahead of the IPL 2023 finals that “The target in mind is not about how many runs to score but to look at the situation and see where I can score runs. I carry myself according to the moment. The target is never to score 600 or 800 runs.”

Shubman Gill had an incredible season. He became the first-ever batter to score three centuries in four matches in the history of the Indian Premier League. Gill appeared menacing throughout the tournament. Even in the finals, Gill had 28-ball innings where he smashed three boundaries and a six before dismissal. The highest-ever opening wicket score in an IPL Final of 62 runs between Gill and Wriddhiman Saha.

His back-to-back centuries against MI and RCB in the playoffs made his whole dugout stand and applaud the heroics. He scored a total of 890 runs on an average of 59.33 with a strike rate of just over 157. 

#1 Virat Kohli (963 runs in IPL 2016)

Virat Kohli leads the list with 973 runs at an average of 81.08 in the 2016 edition. Scoring close to 1000 runs is no easy task, and no player appears to be capable of breaking the 900-run barrier. Virat Kohli has been one of the most consistent batsmen in the IPL throughout the years. 

During the 2016 season, he dominated every opponent and went on to hit four tons. Throughout the season, his strong performances helped the team reach the finals. SRH, on the other hand, defeated them by eight runs in the summit showdown. Virat Kohli is the top run-scorer in IPL history, with 6244 runs in 206 matches.

King Kohli set ablaze every arena in IPL 2016. He scored at a strike rate of 152. With seven half-centuries to his name in the 16 matches he played, his aggressive batting display held all franchises by the neck in the field.