pm2 1

The Much-Delayed IPL 2020 Finally Takes off on September 19

Amid the Covid-19 pandemic, the return of IPL 2020 has been a delight for cricket lovers. After being postponed for five months, the 13th season of the beloved Indian Premier League is set to begin on September 19 with the opening match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. The final is scheduled for November 10.

Due to the pandemic this time, the league will be played away from home in Abu Dhabi. IPL 2020 was originally supposed to start from March 29 but was delayed due to the nationwide lockdown imposed from March 25. Last year the opening ceremony was canceled, and the funds were donated to the families of CRPF personnel who lost their lives in the Pulwama terror attack. This time too, IPL will start without the grand opening ceremony under all the possible safety protocols. The officials are very careful and strict with maintaining safety standards.

In total, 60 matches will be played out at three different venues: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, and Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. There will be 10 doubleheaders, and the first match will start at 3:30 PM IST and 2:00 PM UAE time. Evening matches will be starting at 7:30 PM IST and 6:00 UAE time. You can catch the live telecast of matches in India on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 2, Star Sports 1 Hindi, and you can watch the live streaming of all the matches on Disney+Hotstar VIP.

The following teams will be participating:

  • Kings XI Punjab (KXIP),
  • Mumbai, Rajasthan Royals (RR),
  • Indians (MI),
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR),
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB),
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH),
  • Delhi Capitals (DC),
  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK),

After all this delay and waiting, people are excited to witness the league. One of the biggest attractions will be Mahendra Singh Dhoni playing after he announced his international cricket retirement last month.