Ravichandran Ashwin: The game situation was immaterial, that would be a legitimate form of dismissal

ц
Ravichandran Ashwin says I find it very surprising to have so many taboos surrounding this mode of dismissal

India skipper Rohit Sharma turned a few heads as he chose to pull out Mohammed Shami’s appeal to dismiss Dasun Shanaka when the Sri Lanka captain was batting on 98 during the first ODI against Sri Lanka.

India skipper Rohit Sharma turned a few heads as he chose to pull out Mohammed Shami’s appeal to dismiss Dasun Shanaka when the Sri Lanka captain was batting on 98 during the first ODI against Sri Lanka. 

Shanaka proceeded to score a hundred but the match was already in Team India’s pocket. While Rohit said that he didn’t want Shanaka should be dismissed in ‘that manner’, Ravichandran Ashwin isn’t totally satisfied with how the incident’s result.

In a video on his YouTube channel, Ashwin kept up that a run-out at the non-striker’s end stays a ‘legitimate’ form of dismissal.

“Of course, Shami’s run out. When Shanaka was on 98, Shami ran him out in the non-striker’s end, and he appealed too. Rohit withdrew that appeal. So many people tweeted about that immediately. I am going to keep repeating only one thing, guys. The game situation is immaterial. That is a legitimate form of dismissal,”

said Ashwin.

“And if you ask an lbw appeal or a caught-behind appeal, nobody will check with the captain on whether they are sure with the appeal like a Sarath Kumar or an Amitabh Bachchan in Kaun Banega Crorepati.

“They will give him out if the bowler appeals and that is the end of it. See, even if one fielder appeals, the umpire must declare a player out if he is out,”

he added.

Ashwin also targeted the umpires for not following the rulebook as he kept on batting against the taboos that stay in this form of dismissal.

“I find it very surprising to have so many taboos surrounding this mode of dismissal. But the entire dismissal is regarding what the bowler does, right? The right of making that dismissal or making that appeal or making that decision lies with the bowler, right?”

Ashwin asserted.

“In so many games, a batter has nicked and walked without waiting for the umpire’s decision. At that time, the batting team captain won’t come and ask, ‘With whose permission did you walk like that? Did you forget the team’s cause? Go back and continue playing.’ So, these different treatments for bowlers and batters have been taking place for so many years now”

he further said.

Comments

0