Rajasthan Royals overpowered Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi and won by eight wickets

RR vs MI

On Sunday, in match 45 of the IPL 2020, Ben Stokes’s boundary filled hundred and Sanju Samson’s attractive fifty guided RR towards an impressive eight-wicket win. MI was at 195/5 after 20 overs, to which RR scored 196/2 in 18.2 overs with Ben Stokes striking the winning shot.

Ben Stokes and Sanju Samson’s incredible partnership made RR victorious over MI.

Kieron Pollard, who overtook the captaincy due to Rohit Sharma being injured, decided to bat after winning the toss. Quinton de Kock and Ishan Kishan set out to begin the innings. Quinton de Kock opened with a smashing six but got out in the first over.

Suryakumar Yadav joins Ishan Sharma on the crease. The duo doing a brilliant job with back-to-back boundaries took the score beyond 80. In the 11th over, Kartik Tyagi made the breakthrough for MI and broke the partnership by taking out Ishan Kishan for 37 runs. Gopal takes a big wicket for RR, sending Suryakumar back for 40 runs. Kieron Pollard knocked a six off Gopal but got out on Gopal’s googly in the same over. Hardik Pandya joined Saurabh Tiwary and surged the scoreboard past 160 before Tiwari went out for 24 runs. Pandya went all out in the last over, completed his fifty off just 20 balls, and MI ended at 195/5.

Chasing down a big 196 runs target Robin Uthappa and Ben Stokes came on the crease. RR lost Uthappa early for 13 runs. Ben and Smith strike some amazing boundaries, but Smith also got out early with 11 runs. Sanju Samson came to support Stokes, who was already on fire. Ben Stokes completed his fifty off 28 balls, and the duo didn’t look back.

Samson and Stokes completed a 100 run partnership by the 15th over with phenomenal boundaries from both the players. Sanju Samson took 27 balls to complete his fifty. Taking it a level up, Stokes brings up his maddening 100 off 59 balls with a six off Pattinson, and with a winning six, he seals the win for RR.

RR winning the match resulted in CSK not being qualified for the IPL 2020 playoffs.